TOP 50 Songs of 2009 : 50-26

50.) Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Zero   [Right-Click to Download]

The “Karen O” obsession for me has hit a new high with this track from the band’s third album titled, It’s Blitz!

49.) Washed Out – New Theory

A music project that’s only 4 months in the making has produced some really enjoyable dream induced music for me this year.

48.) Florence + The Machine – Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)

Florence + The Machine has turned into one of my favorite female artists of 2009.  She’s got some big pipes on her and I think her new album titled Lungs is very appropriate.

47.) Peaches – I Feel Cream

Since Kylie Minouge didn’t come through for me in 2009, Peaches filled my every void for sexually explicit pop-diva vocals that are perfect for any dance floor.

46.) Doves – Jetstream

I wasn’t all that thrilled by their forthcoming album “Kindom of Rust” but this song Jetstream was one I couldn’t stop listening to for the entire year.  The build up of this song is just bloody fantastic.

45.) People Under The Stairs – Trippin at the Disco

Here’s a hilarious video for one of my favorite hip-hop groups in the entire universe.  It’s refreshing to know that they’re still keeping things light-hearted while producing one of the catchiest hip-hop songs of the year.

44.) Dan Black – Symphonies

One of the more obscure covers I’ve ever heard, but the cover of Biggie’s Hypnotize is one glorious mashup that certainly took the hipster blogs by storm this year.   It became so popular that when it came to be released as a single, copyright problems arose,  the lyrics were rewritten and the new single “Symphonies” was born.

43.) Kings Of Convenience – Boat Behind

Don’t wait to discover the musical stylings of Erlend Oye in both Kings of Convenience and also his electronic project,  The Whitest Boy Alive.   The song Boat Behind is my favorite from the album Declaration of Dependence. It’s gentle fiddle riffs over groovy acoustic guitars  in the song is what I have come to love from this duo.

42.) Q-tip – Damn You’re Cool

Q-tip has a flow like no other and his recent album release Kamaal The Abstract, seemed to go unnoticed in 2009.  What was originally set to release back in 2001, finally dropped and it brings me straight back to 2001 when Tribe Called Quest was on heavy rotation in whatever high-powered roadster I was driving at the time.

41.) Dada Life – Happy Hands & Happy Feet

The title track from the Sweedish duo, Dada Life I have been played over and over this year.  The warped vocals and disco beat are sure to keep you swaying those hips, or just tapping uncontrollably like me in your car.

40.) The Hood Internet – Two Weeks Of Hip Hop (Dead Prez vs. Grizzly Bear)

Who knew a classic Dead Prez track would blend so beautifully with the indie inspired band Grizzly Bear.  The result is pure gold and a track I’m sure I’ll be listening to for a long time.

39.) Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros – Home

I remember seeing this ensemble of kooky looking people on David Letterman this past year.  Little did I know they were about to create such an infectious melody that really just makes you want a jig whenever you hear it.

38.)  Blakroc – Dollaz & Sense (Featuring Pharoahe Monch & RZA)

Take some of Hip-Hops finest and combine it with the bluesy guitar riffs of The Black Keys and you’re toying with a very short list of rock-rap collaborations in years past.  Luckily this album nailed it all the way through and I wouldn’t call it Rap-Rock but just Rap in its purest form without the boats, cristal and big booty hoe’s.  Maybe RZA’s spiritual zone will better explain what this music is all about.

37.) Hockey – Too Fake

A band that blew up the spot with their live performances at SXSW this year.  I had a real tough time picking between this and my other favorite Work by them, but couldn’t resist how much I love the chorus of this song.  A band from Portland, OR that I hope blows up this year, they deserve it.

36.) Throw Me The Statue – Hi-Fi Goon


An insanely catchy tune and I think I like it more since the title reminds me of myself.  An album that really flew under the radar this year,  but the infectious hook of this song can’t go unnoticed.

35.) Fever Ray – Seven


This song is creepy as hell and wonderfully weird to listen to while lurking in the shadows.   If you’re familiar with The Knife, then you’re familiar with Karin Dreijer Andersson and her spooky Sweedish lullabies.

34.) Bloody Beetroots – House N° 84

A Italian bred DJ duo known that’s best known for their heart pounding house music.   The Bloody Beetroots may be too hard for most, but I’m a firm believer in that there’s a time and a place for music and this should only be played when doing something really really extreme.

33.) Health – Die Slow

When is noise considered music?  or when is music considered just a bunch of noise?  Health, seems to bridge the gap by playing their instruments like they’re on fire, singing indecipherable lyrics and the result is mind-blowing chaos.  You may think this sounds like a car crash but I think it’s a perfected collision of noise.

32.)RJD2 – A Beautiful Mine

You may recognize this song from the opening sequence of Mad Men. While I was too busy watching the much cooler of the television shows, I continue to be impressed by RJD2 still doing his thing after all these years.  But seriously, I’ve heard Mad Men is a great show just haven’t gotten the chance to watch it (as the Jersey shore fills up my DVR queue. ha).

31.) Hudson Mohawke – Fuse

This track reminds me of some sort of opening sequence for the latest National Geographic program.    Listen if you enjoy that sort of light-speed flute synthesized sound, or just give a listen if you don’t know what the hell light-speed flute synthesized sounds like. But this kid is a veteran in the game at only 23yrs old and it really shows with his debut album Butter.

30.) Neon Indian – Deadbeat Summer

This song takes me straight back to snap bracelets, British Knights and neon colored track suits.  Not sure what it is about this song and album but it gives me that nostalgic feeling all the way through.   Usually this sort of slow electronic blips aren’t for me but the experimental effort of the entire album and how it creates this slew of past enjoyable memories is reason enough for me to keep going back to it.

29.) Micachu And The Shapes – Golden Phone

Mica Levi, a 21 yr old girl/boy? from the UK brings a deliciously messy lo-fi song and that happens to be extremely fun to listen to.    The only song that makes me want to play 4-square in the school yard.

28.) Calvin Harris – I’m Not Alone

Calvin Harris has succeeded with his new ‘throw your hands up in the air’ kind of album.  The tracks dig deep into that trancy electro sound that makes your body sway sporadically combined with that pop album feeling where you just can’t get the songs out of your head.  This guy pumped out the hits this year and even some of his remixes have been becoming , what he did to Passion Pit’s The Reeling was amazing,  I swear I probably played only that song for an entire weekend.

27.) The Go Find – Everybody Knows It’s Gonna Happen Only Not Tonight

Never heard of this Belgium group before this teaser track from their new album to be released in February of 2010.  But the dreamy acoustics and horns throughout the song makes for a nice laid back tune.   If this song is what to expect for their third album, I’m already excited.

26.) Classixx Feat. Jeppe – I’ll Get You

This song is infectious, plain and simple.  And the music video for the song was a collaboration with some famous indie photo-blog guy named Cobrasnake, but I think he hit the nail on the head in portraying that this is the kind of song that makes you want to bike ride through Santa Monica.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

